YOUTH/TEEN Select Section WEEKLY Parasha Parshat Shelach Language : english, french SHIURIM & COMMENTARIES

The Ultimate in Jewish Rock

Popular Yeshivat Lev Hatorah videos

Chabad House Bowery

כוכבית אתרוג

תלמוד תורה יסדת עוז תשעד
26.05.2014

Select Section WEEKLY Parshat Shelach language hebrew,french,english,spanish,german,russian, Machon Meir, CHABAD,The Jewish Woman,YOUTH/TEENS SHIURIM & COMMENTARIES

Popular Shabbaton & NCSY videos

Celebrate 60 years of NCSY at the historic Shabbaton this Spring. Sign up online at your regional website or go to http://www.ncsy.org

Popular Shabbaton & Chabad videos

A fantastic group of Young Adults from Chabad NDG in the heart of Montreal’s trendy Monkland Village went down to Crown Heights, New York for an incredible Shabbaton weekend. It was the best of both the physical and spiritual worlds. This is a 6 minute documentary of our journey, reflections and inspirations… hope you enjoy it!

Filmed by Rabbi Yisroel Bernath on Canon Powershot SD1400 IS
Edited in iMovie for iPhone

Parshat Shelach Lecha: The Spies and their Confidence Problem

15.06.2009
http://www.g-dcast.com/shelach-lecha
Download the Curriculum: http://www.g-dcast.com/shelach-lecha-…

Will the Promised Land be flowing with milk and honey, or giants and battles? This week’s guest narrator, Jay Michaelson invites the spies of Parshat Shelach Lecha to look inside themselves and see what the true story behind the challenges to come is: WE CAN DO IT!!

This is Episode 37 of the weekly Torah cartoon from G-dcast.com. Each week, a different storyteller – some musical, some poetic, some just straight-up, tell the story of the current Torah portion…and then we animate it!





Chélah Léha: La faute des explorateurs à cause des enfants d’Israel.

09.06.2014
Rav Ouri Banon

La Paracha avec Boubach saison 2 !!

 

Une nouvelle émission de 613TV qui vous propose 15 minutes de Thora avec une parole de Thora sur la paracha,une loi de Chabbat et une merveilleuse histoire.
Ce pack vous est offert pour embellir votre table de Chabbat.

La paracha #33 : Chela’h Le’ha

30.05.2013
Tous les explorateurs ne sont pas pétris des meilleures intentions. C’est ce que les Bné Israël vont apprendre à leurs dépends. Une leçon qui va leur coûter cher, très cher.

Pour la guérison de Réphael ben Yaël ‘Hanna

Paracha …..Rosée de Miel

WEEKLY TORAH FOR KIDS: Parshat Shlach

Sivan 13, 5774 · June 11, 2014
What’s Beautiful?

Debby leaned back against a moss-covered rock, and pulled her peak cap lower over her eyes. “Anyway I hate mountains,” she muttered. The Cohen family was on holiday in Wales. They had only been there two days and Debby was already complaining. It wasn’t that she was having a miserable time, it was just that…

Her mother had asked her to bring in the washing that was hanging outside the little cottage in the morning and she had forgotten and it had rained. Then, when the family had taken a little walk, she had slipped and gotten herself absolutely covered with mud. She was the only one who found it upsetting; everybody else thought that it was quite funny. Now she was stuck on top of this mountain, with nosy little sheep staring from afar and the sun was in her eyes. She was fed up.

Rina rolled her eyes. “Mummy, let’s just leave her here. We can pick her up on the way down.” Her brother Rafi walked over and sat down next to her on the big rock. “Debby,” he started to say. Debby looked the other way. “You remind me of something in this week’s Torah portion. I know we are not in school, but Daddy was telling me some stuff, really interesting…” Rafi’s voice trailed off. The rest of the family was sitting a little way off, eating cheese and cucumber sandwiches.

Debby looked at her brother. He continued: “Basically the Jews were worried about what was going to happen when they entered the Land of Israel and they wanted to send spies ahead to check out the situation. G-d and Moses were not so happy about this, because obviously G-d would take care of the Jews. Eventually G-d agreed though, and a spy from each tribe was chosen.

“When the spies came back from the Land of Israel, most of them had terrible things to say. They told the people ‘The grapes are so big , it takes a few people to carry one! The people are giants, we looked like ants in comparison, we will never be able to win a war with them. And it’s a dangerous land; people were dying wherever we went!’ This sounded shocking to the people and they lost faith in the promises of G-d about Israel. The people wept; they did not want to hear from Caleb and Joshua, the two spies who had positive things to say about Israel.

“Actually, the land was not so bad. Yes, the fruit was very big, but that was a blessing. The land was so fertile it produced enormous, delicious fruit. The people were giants, but G-d was on the Jew’s side. G-d is much more powerful than any human army, however powerful or strong. And thirdly, the people dying wherever the spies went was a miracle that G-d had performed for the spies’ benefit. The people in Canaan, as the Land of Israel was then called, were so busy burying their dead that they did not notice these little Jewish spies, and did not harm them in any way.

“So you see, it is all in perspective. They looked at the land negatively and this caused a negative response from the people, and in turn a negative response from G-d. If they would only have looked at the Land through positive eyes, life would have been very different for the Jews… As a punishment, the Jews had to wander in the desert for 40 years.”

Debby looked at her muddy shoes, trying to work out what her brother meant. “I know”, she said. “So basically I could look at the mountain as being beautiful instead of tiring, and the sun as pleasant warmth instead of how much it is getting in my eyes”.

Her brother grinned and nodded. “Come, let’s go get some sandwiches before they are finished.” The two siblings ran towards the others, Debby slipping in the mud and trying to find something good to think about it.

 

Positive Light By Mendy Loewenthal Sivan 7, 5774 · June 5, 2014

The sun was shining as Ben and David walked home from school one hot Thursday afternoon.

“How was your Sedra (weekly Torah reading) class?” Ben asked. “Did you have Mr. Benson today?”

Mr. Benson was the school Sedra teacher and every week he would teach each class all about that week’s Sedra.

“Well,” David said, “it’s funny you ask; he actually wasn’t there today. We had this substitute instead.”

“So what was funny about that?” Ben asked.

“I dunno,” David said. “It was just funny, because it still felt like Mr. Benson was teaching the class. If you would ask me who taught the Sedra this week, I would say Mr. Benson, even though he wasn’t there.”

“That is strange,” Ben said. “Wasn’t the substitute’s lesson different; like his voice must have sounded different?”

“Yes, but he did lots of things just like Mr. Benson.” David said as he scratched his head. “It’s a bit like the menorah, the Tabernacle’s candelabra, in this week’s Sedra.

“Right,” Ben said “I remember. Aaron would light the menorah every day in the Sanctuary.”

“Yes,” David said. “But the interesting thing is that the Sages tell us that technically it didn’t have to be Aaron.”

“What do you mean,” Ben said “wasn’t he the High Priest?”

“He was,” David said “but the law is that any Kohen (priest) can prepare the menorah’s oil and wicks for lighting, and any Jew is allowed to light it.”

“So why does the Torah speak about Aaron lighting it if he doesn’t have to do so?” Ben asked, all confused.

“It means that whoever is lighting it has to be doing it because Aaron arranged for him to do it. Aaron is still in charge, even if someone else is lighting it.”

“So you mean, Mr. Benson is still in charge of the lesson, even if someone else is giving it?”

“Yes. But it also means something in a spiritual sense,” David said, taking off his glasses to help him think. “We all light our own ‘mini menorah’ inside ourselves. We light ourselves with positive thoughts and being keen to do good things. And we also light up the people around us. They each are like a flame of the menorah as well. We try to light them up with encouragement, helping them grow.”

“Sounds good,” said Ben. “So where does Aaron come in?”

“Well, the power to be able to do that comes from Aaron the High Priest. He’s like the teacher, or the rabbi, encouraging everyone to go forward.”

“Good old Mr. Benson,” said Ben. “When we’re older we’ll be proud to say we had him teaching us the Sedra!

JewishKids.org Update

Don’t Diet—Live It!
Sivan 12, 5774 · June 10, 2014

 

Americans are burned out from dieting, and I say it’s about time. Researchers at The NPD Group, which tracks Americans’ dieting habits, revealed that only 20 percent of American adults reported dieting in 2012, down from a peak of 31 percent in 1991. Only 23 percent of women claimed to be dieting—10 points down from a decade ago.

The very word “diet” has the echo of oppression. Years ago I decided life was too important to obsess over trying to look good in skinny jeans, so I redefined

Years ago I decided life was too important to obsess over trying to look good in skinny jeans

“diet” as a way to simply get healthier. This was a small stroke of genius, if I may say so myself. No more weighing protein on little scales. No more arbitrary deadlines to lose X amount of weight. After I made this decision, I felt ten pounds lighter already!

I confess, it took me years to slowly peel off a dozen pounds using my new mindset. Pathetic, you might say. Maybe, but my weight never seesawed up and down either. It just kept slowly dropping, as I dared to try things like tofu-vegetable stir-fry dinners and discovered to my shock that I liked them. Today I’m not fat and not slim, but I am at peace with my “huggable” proportions.

As a kid, I loved to eat more than I hated being pudgy. And I was not about to limit soft challah on Shabbat, those gooey brownies at the shul kiddush that I never got at home, and other highly caloric and delicious foods and treats plentifully available in Jewish life. Sometimes I claimed to be dieting but secretly bought cinnamon crumb donuts from the junior high cafeteria. I was jealous of friends who could eat whatever they wanted and not gain weight, like my friend Janet, whom I watched toss back four large doughnuts in a row without expanding one millimeter. The existence of Janet’s masterful metabolism might explain my youthful hesitancy to believe in a good and just G‑d.

During college, I realized that my favorite lunch of a double slice of thick-crust pizza with a frozen yogurt chaser was in direct conflict with my goal of attracting a man to marry. I hated jogging, but it beat swimming and the chlorinated water that always ended up in my nose, so I ran, loathing every

Janet’s masterful metabolism might explain my youthful hesitancy to believe in a good and just G‑d

minute of it. I cut back on the pizza and discovered fresh broccoli. Fortunately, I liked going green. Exercising more and eating less, I enjoyed the novel sensation of cinching a belt over a defined waistline.

I stayed motivated because eating healthier and exercising, even a little, made me feel better, and I was determined to avoid the health problems that were already beginning to plague my sedentary and overweight parents, still only in their 50s. I refused to get discouraged by my slow progress or by coworkers who said things like “I’d give blood, too, but I don’t weigh enough.”

With His infinite sense of humor, G‑d sent me a husband who was naturally slender and almost indifferent to food. On our first date he wouldn’t finish a single scoop of ice cream after dinner, claiming he was full. Wanting a relationship based on honesty and frankness, I demanded he hand it over. I finished it.

Marriage requires patience and forgiveness, and I have forgiven my husband for still fitting into his wedding suit after twenty-five years and for his unfathomable quirk of “forgetting to eat.” (I text him at work to remind him.) What choice do I have? His love and affection for me have never wavered, no matter if I wear a size 8 or 12.

Raising four kids who for years would only eat pasta, hot dogs, pizza and chicken nuggets—even with broccoli on the side—took its toll. When I realized that my waistline had gone MIA, I vowed to get back in shape. Wanting variety, I tried everything: boot camp fitness, belly dancing, boxing, barre-style Pilates, Bikram yoga, and even some things that didn’t start with the letter B. Ironies abound in the fitness industry, including gym instructors who shout, “Remember to breathe!” (do they think I’ll forget?) and yoga teachers who preach self-love but who correct you in front of everyone saying, “This isn’t an interpretive dance class.” There’s a lot to laugh about, and laughter burns calories. And here’s a tip for you health-food zealots out there: Friends don’t tell friends they have sworn off all white flour and sugar and feel better than ever.

Like

Friends don’t tell friends they have sworn off all white flour and sugar and feel better than ever

everything else worthwhile in life, getting and staying healthy takes work. But it’s not a zero-sum game. If you can’t exercise four times a week, exercise once or twice a week, and try to build up. You’ll feel better. And instead of looking in the mirror and frowning at a body that doesn’t match our shallow culture’s “ideal” figure, be thankful for all the miraculous things your body does for you every day. The Almighty knows that we human beings tend to focus more on what we don’t have, rather than on what we do have. Our morning blessings are a great opportunity to say “Thank You, G‑d” for some of the most basic things we would otherwise take for granted, like the ability to see, walk, move our arms and think. Starting my day with blessings and a connection to G‑d is also a reminder that what really counts is how I build my spiritual life—those are the muscles I need to keep toning!

I wasted decades obsessing about my weight, and am relieved to have lost that emotional flab. My own Jewish values taught me that G‑d gave me my body as a gift—even if I might quibble with the packaging—to use in building a purposeful life. I work to keep it healthy so that I can keep giving, creating, taking care of my family and living the full and rich life that Torah affords. Focusing “on high” in that way fosters a sense of inner beauty and strength that helps me “just say no” to a big mound of potatoes or that crumb doughnut at the office

Sivan 10, 5774 · June 8, 2014
Look, Someone’s Watching!

 

Hey Kids!Did you ever go apple picking? How about tree climbing?See what happens to these two friends, as they try to do both in a random orchard. When you’re done, be sure to check out Yehoshua the puppeteer and our weekly collection of stories and comics.

Of course, there’s also our kids’ Parsha section, complete with music, coloring sheets, and the weekly Parsha story!

Have a great week!
Your Friends @ JewishKids.org

 

This Week’s Features

Small Wonder Puppet Theater

The issue of honesty is investigated in this charming children’s show.

Watch Watch (5:11)

Meet JKGT Finalist: Yehoshua Greenberg

Watch Watch (0:59)
Illustrated by Joe Kubert
There once was a great rabbi,
Who had a dream one night.
And in the dream he got to see,
A most amazing sight…

By Bracha Goetz
Download Download   Listen Listen (2:34)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.